Home Results News Table Squad Statistics

I'm not worried!

Pilgrims 3-1 Worcester City

Dr Martens League

The Pilgrims strolled to an easy win in a somewhat passionless end of season encounter that also surprisingly earned them the runners-up cup. Surprises were the order of the day. Firstly, Mark Melson, who rumours had suggested was out of favour after being unavailable for a recent game, was in the side relegating a part fit Joby Gowshall to the subs bench. Next, Len Curtis made an early reappearance following his broken nose just two weeks ago. It was CURTIS who put Boston into the lead after twelve minutes. Andrew Stanhope sent in a cross from the right wing which found its way to Neil Featherstone. His shot was parried by Higgs in the Worcester goal into the path of Curtis who had the easiest of tasks to slot home. Ten minutes later the lead was doubled when Ian STRINGFELLOW headed in a pinpoint cross from Melson. With a bit of luck the Pilgrims might have gone further ahead before half time. Featherstone had two good chances but the first was saved and the second was just over the bar. It clearly wasn't going to be Featherstone's day so Ross Nicholls replaced him at half time.

Martin Hardy nearly marked his final serious game for the Pilgrims with a goal just after the second half started, but his header was wide of the target. A minute later Paul Watts outpaced the Worcester defence only to see his shot well saved. City then used two of their substitutes, bringing on Nathan Jukes and Steve Lutz for Paul Chenoweth and Dave Talbot respectively. It didn't change their fortunes however as the Pilgrims went further ahead on 69 minutes. The goal was a contender for the Pilgrims' Goal of the Season, which David Beckham would have been proud of. Gary CHILDS curled a free kick from outside the area round the City wall and into the top right hand corner of the goal. Five minutes from the end Worcester scored a consolation goal when a mistake left Paul Bastock stranded and Sam BOWEN with the simple job of walking the ball into the net.

United team: 1. Paul Bastock, 2. Mark Melson, 3. Len Curtis, 4. Ian Stringfellow, 5. Martin Hardy, 6. Gary Childs, 7. Andrew Stanhope, 8. Peter Costello, 9. Paul Watts, 10. Neil Featherstone, 11. Richard Mason, 12. Ross Nicholls, 14. Joby Gowshall, 15. Gary Walters.